Our Story

I accidentally woke up this morning loving you. Just for an instant I forgot about our past, your past. I forgot about all the tears. I forgot about all of the reasons that we’re not together. I forgot about the pain of losing you. But as I sat up in bed I regained my consciousness; I regained my memories of you. I remembered the way it felt the first time you kissed me. I remembered the sound of your truck as it pulled out of my driveway the first time you told me you loved me. I remembered the regret that set in as your truck drove farther and farther away, as I realized that I did love you, and that I should have said something, anything back. But instead, I let you leave, completely unaware that moment would change everything between us. Suddenly, I remembered the angst on your face as I finally admitted to loving you. I remembered the stabbing feeling when you told me that it was too late, that it made no difference whether I loved you or not anymore. All of these memories were too much, too fast. Everything hit me once again, all of the emotions. I had lost you, and it was too late. This felt like a nightmare. I slowly laid back down and closed my eyes, hoping that maybe this time I’d wake up and you’d be by my side.

Leave a comment