The Truth

I could lie to you, and myself, and everyone. But, I won’t. I could pretend that I miss you every single day. But, I don’t. I could tell everyone that I never loved you. But, I did. I could deny anything and everything about us. But, that would just be a shout into the void and would have absolutely no impact on my heart whatsoever. I’m doing fine, all things considered. I don’t wake up missing you, and I don’t dream about you at night. And, for the most part, things are the same as they were before you and I. I mean, don’t get me wrong. There are times when I’m listening to the radio and a song comes on that we used to sing along to, and I wish that you were there, singing at the top of your lungs, with me. And, there are times when I pass your truck on the road and wonder what trouble you’re about to go stir up. There are times when I’m sad for no specific reason, and I wish you were there because you always knew exactly what to say, even when it was nothing at all. You would just hold me, and that was enough. It was always just what I needed. But when I think back on these things, I smile. I always smile when I think about you. But, I do not wish that things had been different between us. You showed me that love wasn’t perfect, nor was it supposed to be. You knew that I wasn’t perfect, and you didn’t expect me to be. So no, I do not pine over you. But, I will always be grateful to you for showing me that I’m loveable the way that I am. Flaws and all. Because more than anything, you were a true friend to me those few short months.

Leave a comment