Night Rides

On nights when sleep will not come, and thoughts of you will not cease, rather than lying awake, staring at the ceiling, I often abandon my home and slip out into the chilling night air. I make my way across the yard, barefoot and freezing, until I reach the barn. As soon as I reach my destination, the scent of sawdust and dirt fill my nostrils. This smells like home, and comfort, and all things good. It is just what I need on a musky night like this. I whistle loudly for my horse, Duke, not caring if anyone hears. His warm, brown eyes light up as they see me. This is one boy whom I know will never disappoint me. I use the stall as leverage and hop on his back. He lets out a high-pitched neigh, happy that I rejoined him so quickly. I whisper in his ear, “Go, Duke. You know the way.” And he does. He begins to trot down the trail, carrying, just for an hour or two, my worries and his. I close my eyes and hold onto his neck, shutting out all the thoughts that had earlier encompassed my mind. Sometimes by the time I regain consciousness I can see the sun slowly peaking up above the clouds, shining it’s beautiful pink and yellows across the trees. I reluctantly send Duke back to the barn, knowing this can’t last forever, but wishing it would. I sneak back into my room, unnoticed. I check the time and see that I have an hour before my alarm, and I silently pray that I don’t completely hate myself at school the upcoming day. As my head hits the pillow, and my eyes close I see a quick glimpse of your face. I let out an exhausted sigh because I know that tomorrow night I’ll be finding my way out to the barn once more.

Leave a comment